Recharger son véhicule
Electric vehicle guide

Charging an electric vehicle

Once plugged in, the electric car charges on its own just like a cellphone; no monitoring needed. When charging is done mainly at home, the battery is full every day. When travelling, EV drivers can rely on public charging networks. An increasing number of employers now provide charging stations at work.

Where to charge your vehicle

At home, there are two possible charging options: using the basic charging equipment provided with the new vehicle, in a 120V outlet, or purchasing a 240V charging station and having it installed by an electrician

Access to charging at work encourages the acquisition of a plug-in vehicle, which is why the Gouvernement du Québec – through Transition énergétique Québec – offers financial assistance to companies wishing to make charging available for their employees.

For charging on the road, an EV driver plans breaks according to charging needs. A stop at a tourist destination, a meal break or a snack become opportunities to plug in. Public charging networks include three types of charging stations: 240V charging stations, DC fast charging stations (DCFC) and Tesla Superchargers (for Tesla vehicles only).

Subvention

Financial support for a residential charging station (240V)

The Gouvernement du Québec's Drive Electric program allows drivers who buy or lease a plug-in vehicle to receive up to $600 in financial support for the purchase and installation of a charging station (240 V) at home.

Learn more
Durée et vitesse de recharge

Charging time and charging speed

How long does it take to charge an electric vehicle? Actually, we only rarely have to worry about that since charging is almost always done at home. That being said, the time required to recharge a battery up to 80% or 100%, depends on several factors including battery capacity and charging speed.

Find out more

Optimiser l'autonomie

Range optimizing

To maximize the number of kilometres travelled between charging sessions, EV drivers apply ecodriving principles, take advantage of energy recovery when braking and precondition their vehicle before a trip.

Find out more

Variations saisonnières de l’autonomie

Seasonal variations of electric range

Whether it is gasoline-fuelled or electric, a car will consume more in winter. Cold weather affects all vehicles’ energy efficiency.

Find out more

04

Why drive electric?

02

Types of plug-in vehicles

Recharger son véhicule
Guide du véhicule électrique

Recharger un véhicule électrique

Une fois branchée, tout comme un téléphone cellulaire, la voiture électrique se recharge toute seule; aucune surveillance n’est nécessaire. La recharge se fait surtout à la maison, pour une batterie pleine chaque jour. Sur la route, les électromobilistes peuvent compter sur les réseaux de recharge publique. De plus en plus d’employeurs offrent aussi la possibilité de recharger au travail.

Où recharger son véhicule

À la maison, deux options de recharge sont possibles : utilisation de la borne faisant partie de l’équipement du véhicule, branchée sur une prise 120V, ou achat et installation par un électricien d’une borne de recharge 240V.

L’accès à la recharge au travail favorise l’acquisition d’un véhicule rechargeable et c’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Québec offre, par l’entremise de Transition énergétique Québec, une aide financière aux entreprises qui souhaitent offrir la recharge aux employés.

Pour la recharge en route, l’électromobiliste synchronise ses pauses en fonction de la recharge sur une borne publique. Arrêt touristique, pause repas ou collation deviennent autant d’occasions de se brancher.

Les réseaux de recharge publique comprennent trois types de bornes : les bornes 240V, les bornes rapides à courant continue (BRCC) et les Superchargeurs Tesla (exclusifs aux véhicules Tesla).

Subvention

Soutien financier pour la borne résidentielle (240V)

Le programme Roulez électrique du gouvernement du Québec permet à l’automobiliste qui fait l’acquisition ou la location d’un véhicule rechargeable de bénéficier d’un soutien financier pouvant aller jusqu’à 600 $ pour l’achat et l’installation d’une borne de recharge (240V) à son domicile.

En savoir plus
Durée et vitesse de recharge

Durée et vitesse de recharge

Combien de temps est nécessaire pour recharger un véhicule? En réalité, on ne s’en préoccupe que très rarement, puisque la recharge se passe presque toujours à la maison. Cela dit, la durée de la recharge, c’est-à-dire le temps requis pour recharger la batterie à 80 % ou 100 %, dépendra de plusieurs facteurs dont la capacité de la batterie et la vitesse de recharge.

En savoir plus

Optimiser l'autonomie

Optimiser l’autonomie

Pour maximiser le nombre de kilomètres parcourus entre les recharges, les électromobilistes appliquent les principes de l’écoconduite, profitent de la récupération d’énergie lors des freinages et préconditionnent le véhicule avant le départ.

En savoir plus

Variations saisonnières de l’autonomie

Variations saisonnières de l’autonomie

Qu’elle soit à essence ou électrique, la voiture consommera davantage en hiver. Le froid affecte l’efficacité énergétique de tous les véhicules.

En savoir plus

04

Pourquoi rouler électrique

02

Types de véhicules rechargeables