FAQ

Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about electric vehicles, with information about their range, charging, reliability, costs and savings, winter performance, environmental impacts and about the different types of plug-in vehicles.

In the vast majority of cases, yes.

The important thing is to choose a model that suits your lifestyle. The supply of plug-in vehicles is becoming increasingly diversified:

  • All-electric vehicles have a range of 100 to 500 km depending on battery capacity. For longer journeys, EV drivers use public charging networks.
  • Plug-in hybrid vehicles have an electric range of 20 to 85 km, and the total range is comparable to that of combustion vehicles because of their fuel tank.

No, not any more than you would be with a gasoline vehicle.

Just as a gasoline vehicle gives you a warning when the fuel is running low, an electric vehicle will warn you when it will soon be time to charge.

Learn more about charging.

It depends on the type of vehicle, battery capacity and weather conditions.

  • Fully electric vehicles that are currently available on the market have a range of 100 to 500 kilometres, depending on the model.
  • Plug-in hybrid vehicles that are currently available on the market have an electric range of 20 to 85 kilometres, depending on the model. Their total range is comparable to that of combustion vehicles because of their traditional fuel tank.
  • Depending on road and weather conditions as well as your driving habits, the electric range may be smaller or greater than the range indicated by the manufacturer.

Find out more about the range of plug-in vehicles.

You have three options to charge your electric vehicle

  • The 120V charging station provided with the car, plugged into a standard outlet.
  • A 240V charging station (residential, public, workplace).
  • A DC fast charging station (DCFC) often simply called a fast charging station.

Learn more about charging stations.

It only takes a few seconds to plug in a vehicle. While it is charging, you can do other activities.

The duration of a charging session varies depending on the state of charge (at the beginning and end of the session), battery capacity, type of charging station, vehicle equipment and sometimes weather. On a DC charging station, charging to 80% can take from 20 minutes to 1 hour and a half. On a 240V station (residential or public), charging to 100% can take from 1 hour to over 8 hours. Finally, on a portable 120V charging station (plugged into a standard outlet), charging to 100% can take from a few hours to several days.

Learn more about charging time.

Unlike a lead-acid battery that can expire after a few years or less, the lithium-ion battery has a 10-year life expectancy for this purpose. Thus, after reaching the vehicle’s end of life, the battery is very likely to still be operational. A plug-in vehicle’s electric and hybrid components are covered by a warranty ranging from 8 to 10 years, or 100,000 to 200,000 kilometres.

The reliability of plug-in vehicles is comparable or superior to that of thermal vehicles. Common components such as brakes, suspension and steering are comparably reliable. Some parts, such as the fuel system or muffler, are absent (EV) or less stressed (PHEV). Components specific to plug-in vehicles such as the battery and electric motor are of superior reliability, which is reflected in the long-term warranty offered by manufacturers.

Most charging sessions take place at home at the current utility rate. Calculate approximately $0.10/kWh including taxes. The cost for fully charging your vehicle will depend on the battery capacity and the state of charge at the beginning of the session. On average, about $2 worth of electricity at home allows you to drive for 100 km.

For 240V public charging stations, you will see two rates: $1 to $2 per hour of charging, or $2.50 per session. In Québec, the rate at fast charging stations is usually of $10/h (billed per minute). For most drivers, the use of public charging stations is an occasional occurrence.

Yes. However, the cost will still be only a fraction of the cost of gas! The number of kWh consumed every day will depend mainly on your daily mileage and the vehicle’s energy consumption. Here is an example: 50 kilometres per day at an average of 20 kWh/100 km= 10 kWh/day. At $0.10/ kWh, this amounts to $1 per day or $30 per month (for a monthly mileage of 1,500 km).

All plug-in vehicles come with a portable charging station that works with a 120V household outlet, therefore no installation is needed if you already have a socket within reach. Models with a battery approaching 20 kWh could take more than 12 hours to charge at 120V. For faster charging, some EV drivers thus opt for a 240V charging station. Such a station must be installed by a master electrician. The price of North American charging stations varies from about $700 to $1,300, depending on models and options. The installation, which is a relatively simple operation comparable to the installation of a stove outlet, costs on average $500.

It is highly unlikely that you will have to replace the battery, and for now it is very difficult to figure out the cost of the operation since there is no known case of a replacement not covered by warranty. That said, the cost of manufacturing batteries dropped by more than 70% between 2011 and 2017 and continues to decline as production volumes increase. The cost for a replacement battery (24 kWh) of a first-generation Nissan LEAF (2011-2014) was listed at $5,500 in 2017, while the battery of a Chevrolet Bolt EV (60kWh) would cost about $16,000. However, all Chevrolet Bolt EVs sold to date are still covered by the manufacturer's warranty .

Like any electrical appliance – you do not start an electric vehicle, you turn it on! And it works very well, even in cold weather. However, the cold affects the energy efficiency of all vehicles: whether it is gasoline or electric, a car consumes more in winter. This is due in part to the higher density of cold air, which provides greater resistance. In the case of plug-in vehicles, heating the passenger compartment also draws on the reserve.

Electric range can vary by 10% to 40% depending on weather conditions. It is therefore essential to take this into consideration when choosing a vehicle. The indicated range for each model is actually an annual average: during spring, summer and autumn, an EV will often yield a higher mileage, while in winter its range will be lower.

Learn more about seasonal range.

Yes. Especially in Quebec. Over its entire life cycle, taking into account manufacturing and end of life, an electric vehicle that runs on hydroelectricity emits 65% less greenhouse gases (GHGs) than a gasoline vehicle over 150 000 km. At 300 000 km, the reduction goes up to 80%!

At the time of manufacture, a plug-in vehicle has a greater impact. However, the reduction in use-related pollutant emissions allows for a better environmental performance for electric vehicles compared to gasoline vehicles in relation to the following four criteria: human health, ecosystem quality, climate change and fossil resources depletion.

Once its useful life inside the vehicle is over, the battery can still be used for seven to ten years to store energy, for example for peak hours management or for wind and solar systems. Afterwards, it will still be possible to recover and recycle over 95% of its materials.

A fully electric vehicle never consumes gasoline. A plug-in hybrid runs on electricity for a certain distance and then consumes gas until the next recharge opportunity. Both can be charged with an electric charging station.

Find out more about the types of plug-in vehicles.

No. Hybrid vehicles consume gasoline then convert some of the energy into electricity. These are gasoline vehicles because they rely entirely on fossil fuel to operate, even though they may be more efficient. On the other hand, plug-in hybrid vehicles are recharged each day with a charging station and then travel a certain distance without gasoline, thanks to the energy stored in the battery during charging. These models are considered electric vehicles.

FAQ

Voici les questions les plus fréquentes sur les véhicules électriques. Les sujets couverts sont l’autonomie, la recharge, la fiabilité, les coûts et économies, la performance hivernale, les impacts environnementaux, et les types de véhicules rechargeables.

Dans la grande majorité des cas, oui.

L’important est de choisir un modèle pouvant convenir à votre style de vie. L’offre de véhicules rechargeables est de plus en plus variée :

  • Les véhicules entièrement électriques ont une autonomie de 100 à 500 km selon la capacité de la batterie. Pour les déplacements plus longs, les électromobilistes utilisent les réseaux de recharge publiques.
  • Les véhicules hybrides rechargeables ont une autonomie électrique rechargeable de 20 à 85 km et l’autonomie totale est comparable à celle des véhicules à combustion grâce au réservoir à essence.

Non, pas plus qu’avec un véhicule à essence.

Comme le véhicule à essence émet des avertissements lorsque le niveau d’essence est bas, le véhicule électrique vous indiquera également qu’il est bientôt temps de le recharger.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la recharge

Ça dépend de la capacité de la batterie, des conditions et du type de véhicule.

  • Les véhicules entièrement électriques disponibles sur le marché offrent une autonomie variant de 100 à 500 kilomètres selon le modèle.
  • Les véhicules hybrides rechargeables disponibles sur le marché offrent une autonomie électrique variant de 20 à 85 kilomètres selon le modèle. Leur autonomie totale est comparable aux véhicules à combustion grâce au réservoir à essence traditionnel.
  • Selon les conditions routières et climatiques ainsi que les habitudes de conduite, l’autonomie électrique peut-être plus basse ou plus grande que la cote d’autonomie annoncée par le constructeur.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’autonomie des véhicules rechargeables.

Vous aurez quatre options pour recharger votre véhicule électrique

  • La borne 120V livrée avec la voiture, branchée sur prise standard.
  • Une borne 240V (résidentielle, publique, au travail).
  • Une borne de recharge à courant continu (BRCC) souvent appelée borne de recharge rapide.
  • TESLA

Pour en savoir davantage les bornes de recharge.

En fait, ça ne prend que quelques secondes pour brancher le véhicule puis, pendant la recharge, vous serez occupé à d’autres activités.

La durée d’une session de recharge dépendra du niveau de charge (au début et à la fin de la session), de la capacité de la batterie, du type de borne, de l’équipement du véhicule et parfois, de la température. Sur une borne de recharge à courant continu, la recharge à 80% peut prendre de 20 minutes à 1 h 30. Sur une borne 240V (résidentielle ou publique), la recharge à 100% peut prendre de 1 h à plus de 8 h. Enfin, sur une borne portative 120V (à brancher sur prise standard), la recharge à 100% peut prendre de quelques heures à plusieurs jours.

En savoir davantage sur la durée de recharge.

Contrairement à la batterie au plomb qui peut rendre l’âme après quelques années ou moins, la batterie lithium-ion a une durée de vie de 10 ans pour cet usage. Ainsi, à la fin de vie du véhicule, il y a de très fortes chances que la batterie soit encore opérationnelle. Les composantes électriques et hybrides des véhicules rechargeables sont d’ailleurs couverts par une garantie allant de 8 à 10 ans ou de 100 000 à 200 000 kilomètres.

La fiabilité des véhicules rechargeables est comparable ou supérieure à celle des véhicules thermiques. Les composantes communs comme les freins, la suspension et la direction présentent un niveau de fiabilité comparable. Certaines pièces, comme le système d’alimentation en essence ou le pot d’échappement, sont absentes (VEE) ou moins sollicitées (VHR). Les composantes spécifiques aux véhicules rechargeables, tels la batterie et le moteur électrique, sont d’une fiabilité supérieure qui se reflète dans la garantie de longue durée offerte par les constructeurs.

La plupart des sessions de recharge sont faites à la maison, au tarif en vigueur. Calculez environ 0,10$/kWh incluant les taxes. Le coût de la recharge complète de votre véhicule dépendra de la capacité de la batterie ainsi que son état de charge au moment du branchement. En moyenne, environ 2$ en électricité à la maison permettront de rouler 100km.

Pour les bornes publiques 240V, vous rencontrerez deux tarifs : 1 à 2$/h de recharge ou 2,50$ par session. Au Québec, le tarif des bornes de recharge rapides est généralement de 10$/h de recharge (facturé à la minute). Pour la plupart des électromobilistes, l’utilisation des bornes publiques est ponctuelle.

Oui. Toutefois, le coût ne sera qu’une fraction du coût de l’essence! Le nombre de kWh consommés chaque jour dépendra principalement de votre kilométrage quotidien et de la consommation énergétique du véhicule. Voici un exemple : 50 kilomètres par jour avec une consommation moyenne de 20 kWh/100 km = 10 kWh/jour. À 0,10$/kWh, cela correspond à 1$ par jour ou 30$ par mois (pour une distance mensuelle de 1 500 km).

L’équipement du véhicule rechargeable comprend une borne de recharge portable à brancher sur une prise domestique 120V, donc sans installation si vous avez déjà une prise à portée. Les modèles ayant une batterie approchant les 20 kWh pourraient prendre plus de 12 heures à recharger à 120V. Pour une recharge plus rapide, certains électromobilistes optent donc pour une borne de recharge 240V. Une telle borne doit être installée par un maître électricien. Le prix des bornes nord-américaines varie de 700$ à 1 300$ selon les modèles et leurs options. L’installation, une opération relativement simple, comparable à l’installation d’une prise de cuisinière, coûte en moyenne 500$.

Il est fort peu probable que vous ayez à remplacer la batterie et, pour l’instant, il est très difficile de connaître le coût de l’opération puisqu’il n’y a pas de cas connu d’un tel remplacement non couvert par la garantie. Cela dit, le coût de fabrication des batteries a baissé de plus de 70% entre 2011 et 2017 et continue à descendre à mesure que les volumes de production augmentent. Le coût d’une batterie de remplacement (24 kWh) d’une Nissan LEAF de première génération (2011-2014) a été listé à 5 500 $ en 2017 alors que la batterie d’une Chevrolet Bolt EV (60kWh) coûterait près de 16 000 $. Il faut toutefois se rappeler que les Chevrolet Bolt EV vendues à ce jour sont encore sous garantie du constructeur.

Il faut d’abord savoir que, comme tout appareil électrique, on ne démarre pas un véhicule électrique, mais on l’allume! Et cela se passe très bien, même par grand froid. Toutefois, le froid affecte l’efficacité énergétique de tous les véhicules. Qu’elle soit à essence ou électrique, la voiture consommera davantage en hiver. Cela est dû en partie à la densité plus élevée de l’air froid, qui offre une plus grande résistance. Pour les véhicules rechargeables, le chauffage de l’habitacle puise également dans la réserve.

L’autonomie électrique peut varier de 10 % à 40 % selon les conditions météorologiques. Il est donc essentiel de tenir compte de ce fait lors du choix du véhicule. L’autonomie indiquée pour chaque modèle est en fait une moyenne annuelle : pendant les saisons du printemps, de l’été et de l’automne, la voiture donnera souvent un kilométrage supérieur, alors qu’en hiver il sera inférieur.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’autonomie saisonnière.

Oui. Particulièrement au Québec. Sur l’ensemble de son cycle de vie, c’est-à-dire en tenant compte de la fabrication et de la fin de vie, le véhicule électrique qui fonctionne à l’hydroélectricité émet 65% moins de GES qu’un véhicule à essence sur 150 000 km. À 300 000 km la réduction est de 80%!

Au moment de la fabrication, le véhicule rechargeable a un impact supérieur. Toutefois, la réduction des émissions polluantes liées à l’utilisation fait que le bilan environnemental des véhicules électriques par rapport aux véhicules à essence est positif pour ces quatre critères : santé humaine, qualité des écosystèmes, changements climatiques et épuisement des ressources fossiles.

Après sa vie utile dans le véhicule, la batterie pourra encore servir pendant sept à dix ans pour emmagasiner de l’énergie, par exemple pour la gestion des heures de pointe ou pour des systèmes éoliens et solaires. Par la suite, il sera toujours possible de récupérer et de recycler plus de 95% des matériaux.

Le véhicule entièrement électrique ne consomme jamais d’essence. L’hybride rechargeable roule électrique sur une certaine distance et consomme ensuite de l’essence jusqu’à la prochaine opportunité de recharge. Tous les deux peuvent être rechargés avec une borne.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les types de véhicules rechargeables.

Non. Les véhicules hybrides consomment de l’essence et convertissent une partie de l’énergie en électricité. Ce sont des véhicules à essence car ils dépendent entièrement du combustible fossile pour fonctionner même s’ils peuvent être plus efficaces. En contrepartie, les véhicules hybrides rechargeables sont rechargés chaque jour avec une borne et roulent ensuite sur une certaine distance sans essence, grâce à l’énergie emmagasinée dans la batterie lors de la recharge. Ces modèles sont considérés comme des véhicules électriques.