Optimiser l'autonomie
Charging your vehicle

Optimizing EV range

Driving electric is efficient. Maximize your EV’s range with ecodriving techniques, scheduled charging sessions and energy regeneration.

EV drivers apply ecodriving principles to optimize range and get the most out of their plug-in vehicle and minimize seasonal range variations.

Greater efficiency with ecodriving

As with gasoline vehicles, ecodriving techniques allow you to consume less energy while driving. In the case of plug-in vehicles, this can add many kilometres to their electric range.

Energy recovery, the ultimate efficiency!

When slowing down, part of a plug-in vehicle’s movement energy is "recovered" and returned to the battery. This recovery system allows for "one-pedal driving" referenced by users familiar with the technology. Much of the braking is done simply by releasing the accelerator which triggers a regenerative brake - an engine brake of sorts. By applying ecodriving principles, a driver can (depending on weather conditions) add several kilometres to the estimated range because of improved energy efficiency.

Example of energy recovery: up and down hills

In a gasoline-powered vehicle, the engine will consume more when climbing a hill and then there will be a loss of energy while braking in the descent. With an electric vehicle, climbing will also obviously use more energy , but when going downhill, some energy spent will be "regenerated" and returned to the battery. At the end of the trip, the energy consumption of an electric vehicle will hardly be greater than if there were no inclines!

Energy recovery

Schedule charging and preheat vehicle while plugged in

Two other strategies used to optimize energy efficiency are: scheduling the charging sessions and preheating the vehicle while still plugged in. These strategies are more commonly used in winter.

  • Schedule charging (with the vehicle’s dashboard or mobile application) so that it is completed just before the planned departure time. That way, battery temperature is optimal.
  • The remote starter, when used while the car is still plugged in, makes it possible to preheat the vehicle using energy fed by the charging station and to thus avoid drawing from the battery’s reserve.

Optimiser l'autonomie
Recharger son véhicule

Optimiser l'autonomie

Rouler électrique, c’est efficace. Tirez le maximum de l’autonomie de votre véhicule électrique grâce à l’écoconduite, la recharge programmée et la récupération d’énergie.

Les électromobilistes adoptent des pratiques pour optimiser l’autonomie afin de tirer le maximum de leur véhicule rechargeable et pour minimiser les variations saisonnières.

Plus grande efficacité énergétique grâce à l’écoconduite

Comme pour les véhicules à essence, les techniques d’écoconduite permettent de consommer moins d’énergie en roulant. Dans le cas des véhicules rechargeables, cela peut ajouter de nombreux kilomètres à l’autonomie électrique!

Récupération d’énergie, l’ultime efficacité!

Lors de ralentissements, une partie de l’énergie de mouvement d’un véhicule rechargeable est «récupérée» et retournée dans la batterie. Ce système de récupération permet la «conduite à une pédale» dont font mention les habitués de la technologie. Une grande partie du freinage est effectuée simplement en relâchant l’accélérateur, ce qui déclenche une sorte de frein-moteur. En appliquant les principes de l’écoconduite, l’automobiliste peut ainsi, selon les conditions, ajouter plusieurs kilomètres à l’autonomie estimée grâce à une meilleure efficacité énergétique.

Regeneration d'énergie

Programmer la recharge et préchauffer le véhicule branché

Deux stratégies utilisées pour optimiser l’efficacité énergique sont la programmation de la recharge et le préchauffage du véhicule branché. Ces tactiques sont davantage utilisées en hiver.

  • Programmer la recharge (avec le tableau de bord ou l’application du véhicule) pour qu’elle soit complétée tout juste avant l’heure de départ prévue. La température de la batterie est ainsi optimale.
  • Le démarreur à distance, utilisé pendant que le véhicule est encore branché, permet de préchauffer le véhicule en utilisant l’énergie transmise par la borne, sans puiser dans la réserve de la batterie.